A Journey Begins Pt 3.

Months after the head injury, yet another strange thing started to happen…

…One day, when I was the in 8th grade (2010/2011) I had just gone to gym class. I got changed into the schools uniform (a lovely heather-grey t-shirt with navy shorts, with my name sprawled across the bottom corner) …So fashionable! But anyway, I stepped into the gym and everyone lined up in several groups to do our warm-ups (or whatever they were called…) I was in the front of the middle group. Just as I started to do the lunges, I got lightheaded and dizzy. I kept going, even though I was dazed and “out of it.” When it came time to do the high-kicks, things really got bad. It felt as though I was floating, I got tunnel vision, and my heart was racing. I remember crying when I got home, as I told my mom what happened.

These “attacks” ended up happening more and more often-  until It got to the point where I was having them ever couple minutes ALL DAY LONG.

 

At some point my teachers were told I was possibly having absence seizures, and to watch me closely for them (talk about awkward…) I went to a neurologist, who did some test where they put electrodes all over your head, and they had me lay down and flashed a blinking strobe light in my eyes (some kind of test for seizures) and that was normal.

I ended up leaving school towards the end of the school year, and switched to Virtual School, for two reasons:

 1. Because I was so miserable with the “attacks”

and

2. Because I was moving to Florida…

….

next -> EXERCISE: My Old Fre-nemy pt. 1

Leave a comment